top of page

The Seven Chakras

Updated: Sep 18, 2022

Chakras are the circular spirals of energy related to seven different points on the spinal column, and all are connected to the various organs and glands within the body. Intuitive Usui Reiki uses universal life force energy to clear, balance, and ground the chakras promoting wellness.

1. Base/Root Chakra

Sanskrit name: Muladhara (root)

Color: Red

Location: Base of Spine

Element: Earth

Attributes: Material world, physical vitality, survival, instincts, security, grounding, stability, action, perseverance, foundation

Physically governs: The lower body, feet, legs, bones, genitals, kidney, bladder, anus, urethra, spine

Gland: Adrenal

Archetypes: Earth Mother, The Victim

Planets: Saturn and the Earth

Astrology: Capricorn, Aquarius

Crystals: Blood stony, ruby, hematite, agate, amethyst, onyx, diamond, garnet, quartz, fluorite

Oils: Sandalwood, cinnamon, myrry, ylang ylang

2. Sacral Chakra

Sanskrit name: Svadhisthana (sweetness)

Color: Orange

Location: Lower abdomen, below the naval

Element: Water (flowing movement)

Attributes: Emotions, relationships, control, sensuality, pleasure, desires, sexuality, creativity, healing

Physically governs: Lungs, kidneys, sexual organs, pelvis, lower back, reproductive system, urinary system, bladder, spleen, colon, small intestine, immune system

Gland: Ovaries/Testicles

Archetypes: The Lover, The Martyr

Planet: Jupiter (also the Moon)

Astrology: Pisces, Scorpio

Crystals: Agate, quartz, calcite, garnet, carnelian, orange topaz, fluorite, diamond

Oils: Jasmine, orange, mandarin, neroli, ylang, ylang

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

Sanskrit name: Manipura (lustrous gem)

Color: Yellow

Location: Stomach area, between naval and sternum

Element: Fire

Attributes: Intellect, ambition, strength of will, personal power, individuality, self-worth, freedom of choice, inner child, the ego, personality

Physically governs: Stomach, spleen, metabolism, pancreas, liver, diaphragm

Gland: Pancreas

Archetypes: The Servant, The Warrior

Planet: Mars (also the Sun)

Astrology: Aries, Leo

Crystals: Citrine, emerald, topaz, amber

Oils: Lemongrass, eucalyptus, lemon myrtle, bergamot, grapefruit, peppermint

4. Hearth Chakra

Sanskrit name: Anahata (ustruck)

Color: Green, pink

Location: Center of the chest near the physical heart

Element: Air (our breath)

Attributes: Love, compassion, universal consciousness, emotional balance, forgiveness, relationships

Physically governs: Heart, thymus, lungs, rib cage, blood circulation, arms, wrists, hands

Gland: Thymus

Archetypes: The Healer, The Controller

Planet: Venus

Astrology: Libra, Taurus

Crystals: Rose quartz, ruby, emerald, jade, peridot, malachite, diamond

Oils: Rose, lavendar, ylang ylang, bergamot, cedarwood

5. Throat Chakra

Sanskrit name: Vishuddha (purification)

Color: Blue

Location: Neck/throat

Element: Sound (vibration)

Attributes: Communication, self-expression, creativity, expression of will, Divine guidance, inner voice, speaking one's truth

Physically governs: Throat, neck, jaw, thyroid, menstrual cycle, arms, digestive tract, vocal chords, ears, nose, mouth

Glands: Thyroid and Parathyroid

Archetypes: The Teacher, The Hermit

Planet: Mercury)

Astrology: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius

Crystals: Aquamarine, turquoise, fluorite, tanzanite, lapis lazuli, agate, alexandrite

Oils: Frankincense, ylang ylang, chamomile, peppermint, geranium

6. Third Eye Chakra

Sanskrit name: Ajna (to perceive)

Color: Indigo

Location: Forehead between eyebrows

Element: Light (also inner sound)

Attributes: Spiritual awareness, seeing, insight, visualization, intuition, psychic powers, vision, clairvoyance, imagination

Physically governs: Eyes, pituitary gland, autonomic nervous system, brain, mind, nose, ears

Gland: Pituitary

Archetypes: The Wise Elder, The Intellectual

Planets: Moon and the Sun

Astrology: Caner

Crystals: Lapis Lazuli, clear quartz, moonstone, lolite, amethyst, sapphire, tanzanite

Oils: Sweet pea, juniper berry, rosemary, bergamot, frankincense

7. Crown Chakra

Sanskrit name: Sahasrara (thousand-fold)

Color: Violet, white, gold

Location: Top of the head

Element: Thought and its flow

Attributes: Spirituality, Energy, connection with the Divine, pure awareness, enlightenment, fulfillment, cosmic consciousness, the Absolute, grace, deep inner quest, intelligence

Physically governs: Head, higher mind, pineal gland upper brain, central nervous system

Gland: Pineal

Archetypes: The Master, The Egoist

Crystals: Clear quartz, amethyst, rhodonite

Oils: Voilet, lavendar, lotus, frankincense, myrrh, sandalwood

108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page